Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

***Spoiler alert

Divergent fans were divided when the final book to this popular YA series came out. It took me a while to read it, so I had to navigate the internet carefully to avoid spoilers. When I finally got around to reading it, I understood why so many fans were outraged. Even after giving myself a few weeks to mull over what I think of the book, I’m still a little undecided whether I really like it or not.

Personally, I liked the ending.


Although a lot of readers were upset about the ending, I really admire Veronica Roth’s decision to let Tris die. I say ‘let Tris die’ rather than ‘kill her off’ for a reason. I think Tris was meant to die the way she did all along. Although she cast off her plain, grey robes for black and tattoos when she chose Dauntless, she was still selfless. She had those Abnegation roots. She realized the connection between selflessness and bravery, and was willing to be both to save her brother.

Characters often make decisions for us, the authors. We think that they’re going to do something one way and then they turn everything around and upside down and take us in a much different direction. Veronica Roth said in an interview that she always planned for the ending to be the way it was. I think she had a strong connection with her character and understood how much she would sacrifice for the ones she loved.

Now on to what I didn’t like.

I really liked Divergent. I thought Insurgent was slow. Allegiant, however, was just anticlimactic and messy. The focus kept shifting from both rebellions and I don’t think Matthew was a well built up character. 

While I rooted for Tris and Tobias from the beginning, their scenes in this book were kind of irritating. It wasn’t the fact that they were in a relationship that bothered me, it was that they wouldn’t stop gushing about each other. The plot deserved more attention than the love element.

This one is more of a pet peeve. The POV shifts. POV is so important. It determines how close the reader is to the plot, the characters, and the world that the author has created. Sometimes the authors write the perspectives so close to the main character that I feel glued to them, trapped in their heads. You need a breath of fresh air, some perspective from other characters. I understand that Roth needed the POV changes so that Tobias could pick up the story when Tris died, but I wish she would have handled it differently. She could have either made all the books 3rd person, or write the entire third book from Tobias’s POV. Or made Tobias’s voice different from Tris’s. Or even putting ‘Tris’ or ‘Tobias’ at the top of the page would have helped. It was just frustrating. 

Overall, there were some things that I applaud Veronica Roth for, and there are some things that I really wish had been done differently. Veronica Roth is a fantastic writer though, and I can’t wait to see what she takes on next.

What did you think of Allegiant? Have any book recommendations? Share them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

