How to Plow Through That Never-Ending Book List: My Secret to Reading a Lot of Books

how to read a lot of booksWow, that’s quite a long title. However, this post is going to be pretty short. I’m going to reveal how I read a lot of books, at least double the amount that I used to read.

I read more than one at a time. 

I never used to do this. I always had one book to read, and I thought the idea of bouncing between books was absolutely insane and would be confusing. I had a score of bookmarks, but only one book to read at a time.

Then one summer, I realized that I was really slacking on my reading list. There are so many books that I want to read, so many that I know I will never get to (that is such a horrifying thought). I’ve always had a hard time focusing and I get bored very easily. I would get stuck on a book for months because I’d get tired of it, but I just couldn’t force myself to give up. So, I tried to figure out how to read faster.

I think this is something I learned to do in college, when I had to keep up with multiple textbooks plus whatever book I was reading for pleasure. I realized how many books I was reading and wondered if I could do this with my personal reading list. Currently, I’m reading four books, but I know some people who can read up to ten at a time.

Surprisingly, reading more than one book at a time isn’t as hard as I thought it would be. It’s like watching more than one TV show at a time. You don’t usually watch only one show for weeks straight (unless you’re on a serious Netflix binge, in which case, carry on).

Having multiple books on my nightstand has revolutionized my reading routine. I get through more books because I have more options. I don’t get stuck. If I’m bored with one book, I can put it down for a bit and move to another one. I have no problem hopping from one world to the next. Just make sure you don’t put it down for too long.

I do this same technique with my writing. I used to pour all of my energy into one story, burn out, and then leave it. Then I started varying my work. I started writing poems, short stories, novels, and now this blog. Even my daily journal entry keeps the ball rolling.

So what do you think? Can you hop from one world to the next? How do you get through your reading list? What works for you?

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

